The answer to life, the universe and everything!

I noticed my wife’s tape measure lying on her craft table one day and realised the way it was wound up made some nice shapes and would probably make a good close-up image. I took a quick picture with my phone and posted it on my Instagram page. I liked the result so thought it might be worth taking a ‘proper’ image of the measure with my ‘proper’ camera.

I pondered over which number to make the focus of the image, originally thinking I’d do my age, then my ‘celebrity’ age, then my lucky number, eventually settling on the number 42 which, depending on what you believe is “…the answer to life, the universe and everything…”

This entry was posted in test.

3 comments on “The answer to life, the universe and everything!

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Yes, 42!!! Interesting image, Steve,and made so I think by the more or less concentric swirls of tape – and by its colour – on first seeing this I thought it should be mono – but its true colour is much more effective I think.

    And I like the way that 42 and 43 are wholly visible, with other numbers semi-obscured and receding into the gloom behind them. Adrian

  2. skuk2 says:

    Thanks Adrian. I must admin I did think of doing a mono version but thought this almost sepia tone looked slightly better. The original image had even more colour so I desaturated it slightly too.

Leave a Reply

